Childhood obesity

XXXX

A conference call Friday, June 21, will address childhood obesity and how to advocate on behalf of children. The call, coordinated by the United Methodist General Board of Church & Society (GBCS) work area on Alcohol, Other Addictions & Health Care, will have two featured speakers.

  • Vinny DeMarco, faith-based organizer well known from his parallel work on health care for all and protecting children from tobacco; and
  • Andrew Hysell, project director of the Campaign for Healthy Kids, and associate vice president for Policy & Advocacy for Save the Children’s U.S. programs.

The conference call, part of GBCS’s John 10:10 Healthcare Justice Challenge, will address issues such as:

  • Why is childhood obesity a greater problem now than in the past?
  • What health issues does childhood obesity often lead to?
  • What responses can families take and why are these responses not enough?
  • What role can advocacy play in addressing childhood obesity?
  • How can Health Care Justice Sabbaths play a part in informing congregation members about this and related issues?

The call is Friday, June 21, at 12:30 p.m. Eastern Time (11:30 a.m. Central, 10:30 a.m. Mountain, 9:30 a.m. Pacific). Call in number is (866) 494-2397; pass code is 2024885636.

RSVP is requested to help with planning on the call.

Other health-care related calls are scheduled as follows:

  • July 19 — How mental health and addictions are affected by health reform.
  • Aug. 15 — Organizing and local churches
  • Sept. 13 — Mental Illness Awareness Week
  • Oct. 18 — Organ and tissue donation
  • Nov. 15 — Patient quality and safety; also, children’s health
  • Dec. 20 — Showcasing our grant achievements

For more information about the calls or the John 10:10 health-care advocacy program, contact The Rev. Cynthia Abrams, GBCS director of Alcohol, Other Addictions & Health Care.

Letter to the Editor